State Of Origin Videos

  • Dufty okay with new role

    Dufty okay with new role

  • 10-mins not enough for Jenko

    10-mins not enough for Jenko

  • Trbojevic still sidelined

    Trbojevic still sidelined

  • Graham: 'It's my life'

    Graham: 'It's my life'

  • Worst of a wet and wild Rd 1

    Worst of a wet and wild Rd 1

  • GLD v CAN: Full Game Replay

    GLD v CAN: Full Game Replay

  • PEN v PAR: Full Game Replay

    PEN v PAR: Full Game Replay

  • Raiders rattle Titans

    Raiders rattle Titans

  • Future Wendell's got legs!

    Future Wendell's got legs!

  • Titans press conference

    Titans press conference


2018 State of Origin Fixtures

The 2018 State of Origin Series will take place with game 1 played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, game 2 at ANZ Stadium in Sydney on a standalone weekend and game 3 at Sundcorp Stadium in Brisbane. Below are the dates for the three games in the 2018 series:

State of Origin History

Rugby league matches between New South Wales and Queensland have been played for the past century, but it took until 1980 for State of Origin to go from concept to reality.

Prior to that, players represented the state where they played, rather than where they were originally from. Queenslanders were desperate to represent their home state and so State of Origin was born, with Arthur Beetson captain-coaching the Maroons to a 20-10 victory at Lang Park on July 8, 1980.

It took another five years for the Blues to record a series victory under the new Origin selection criteria, with Steve Mortimer leading NSW to a famous win at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

That cemented the legend of State of Origin, and three decades later it remains the ultimate rugby league battle ground, pitting teammates against teammates in a brutal test of a player’s mental and physical abilities.

Check out our State of Origin Index that compares every player, from every game in Origin’s 38 year history.

Previous Winners

2018New South Wales21
2014New South Wales21

Wally Lewis Medal Winners

2018Billy SlaterQueenslandFullback
2017Dane GagaiQueenslandWing
2016Cameron SmithQueenslandHooker
2015Corey ParkerQueenslandLock
2014Paul GallenNSWLock/Prop
2013Cameron SmithQueenslandHooker
2012Nate MylesQueenslandSecond-row
2011Cameron SmithQueenslandHooker
2010Billy SlaterQueenslandFullback
2009Greg InglisQueenslandCentre
2008Johnathan ThurstonQueenslandHalfback, five-eighth
2007Cameron SmithQueenslandHooker
2006Darren LockyerQueenslandFive-eighth
2005Anthony MinichielloNSWFullback
2004Craig FitzgibbonNSWLock

Rugby League on Fox Sports

  • 502

    English Super League - Warrington v Wigan

    Tue 19 Mar, 2:30am

  • 502

    NSW Premiership - Round 1 New Zealand v Canterbury

    Tue 19 Mar, 4:00am

  • 502

    NRL - Panthers v Eels

    Tue 19 Mar, 5:30am

  • 502

    NRL 360 - Episode 8

    Tue 19 Mar, 7:00am

  • 502

    Big League Wrap - Episode 1

    Tue 19 Mar, 8:00am

  • 502

    NSW Premiership - Round 1 New Zealand v Canterbury

    Tue 19 Mar, 9:00am

  • 502

    NRL - Storm v Broncos

    Tue 19 Mar, 10:30am

  • 502

    NRL - Knights v Sharks

    Tue 19 Mar, 11:00am

Most Popular NRL News