rugby sevens highlights

  • Aquaman goes off at 7s

    Aquaman goes off at 7s

  • NZ dominate Aussies in Canada

    NZ dominate Aussies in Canada

  • US star's crazy courage

    US star's crazy courage

  • Giants combine for USA's 2nd

    Giants combine for USA's 2nd

  • Aussies smashed by England

    Aussies smashed by England

  • Isles skins New Zealand

    Isles skins New Zealand

  • Australia schools Scotland

    Australia schools Scotland

  • US speedster scores double

    US speedster scores double

  • Aussie flick fools everyone

    Aussie flick fools everyone

  • Aussies thump Wales in Vegas

    Aussies thump Wales in Vegas



What is it: HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series consists of ten tournaments and is held at different locations all around the world. Fifteen national sevens teams go head to head for series points, and at the end of the season, the team on top is crowned champions.

The day: It’s a carnival-like atmosphere where fans dress in their favourite club colours, or their best fancy dress. The costumes are just as much a part of the day as the football.

Rules: The Sevens series is simply a stripped-down verson of rugby union. Seven players on each side and played on a normal field, games are of shorter duration and last for only seven to ten minutes each half. The game tends to be extremely fast-paced and higher-scoring compared to the 15-a-side format. The rules are also much simpler and it allows players to perform superb feats. Traditionally, Sevens tournament is conducted in the two-day format.

The teams are split into four pools. Within the pool, the teams play round-robin matches. Points are awarded as follows:

  • Win – 3 points
  • Draw – 2 points
  • Loss – 1 point
  • No-show – 0

If there is tie after the pool matches, the winner is decided on the basis of tiebreakers as follows:

  • Tied teams head-to-head results
  • Points scored/allowed during pool matches
  • Tries scored/allowed during pool matches
  • Points scored in the pool matches
  • Coin toss

In each tournament, there are four trophies to be won. They are the Cup (overall tournament champion wins this trophy), Plate, Bowl and Shield in descending order of prestige. Trophies are awarded after knockout matches.

The two teams at the top in each pool compete for the Cup. The quarterfinal losers compete for the Plate. The teams that finish third and fourth place in each pool compete for the Bowl. Finally, the losing quarter finalists of the Bowl compete for the Shield.

rugby union on Fox Sports

  • 503

    Super Rugby Wrap - Episode 4

    Wed 20 Mar, 3:00pm

  • 503

    Super Rugby Wrap - Episode 5

    Thu 21 Mar, 9:00pm

  • 506

    The World Rugby Show - The World Rugby Show

    Sat 23 Mar, 4:45am

  • 506

    Super Rugby - Blues v Highlanders

    Sat 23 Mar, 5:15am